A Great Place to Stay, Review submitted: 22 February 2016

We've stayed here twice. Francois is an exceptional landlord. He responds quickly to emails and cares about his guests. The property is ideal for a couple, or maybe a couple with one child, who want to experience Lisbon. We enjoy the Alfma district of cobbled alleyways and bars with Fado in the evening. We also used the property as a base last summer and took the train to the beaches most days. It's good, basic, very well maintained self-catering accommodation and to us it felt this time like coming home. We'll use the property again. We consider Francois to be one of our Lisbon friends.  Gavin, UK.

Excellent budget base for city break, Review submitted: 19 February 2016

We had a lovely time in this apartment. It is cosy, quiet (at the time we stayed), clean and has all the basics. The bed is comfy. Communication with our host, Francois, was very good. Alfama felt very safe and you are near to cafes, restaurants,trains and trams. Although we loved staying in this area if you are looking for trendy nightlife this would not be the area for you. It is traditional, lived-in, full of interesting history, proper local shops and there is a friendly bakery just downstairs. An excellent base for a city break on a budget living alongside the locals. Essel, London, UK

Great location, enjoyable stay, Review submitted: 15 September 2015

Great location in the narrow streets of the old Alfama district about 200 metres up from the Fado Museum. Steepish steps up to the apartment may not be suitable for all. Cosy apartment ideal for 2 with reasonable sized and well equipped kitchen, sitting room, bedroom and shower room/toilet. Also small entrance room with computer with free use which is very useful. Francois, the owner, is very helpful. There are detailed instructions left by Francois and a useful guide which he has compiled. Bakery 2 minutes away and many cafes/restaurants less than 10 minutes. Metro and railway station 10 minutes and trams and buses less than 10 minutes. Recommended and would return here. David, UK

It’s wonderful place and more than what I expected!!

Review submitted: 7 December 2014
I stayed in Francois apartment end of November. The small apartment is really nice and well clean. The living environment is quiet. I feel relax and enjoy to live with local people, which is great experience. The apartment has everything you need if you want to cook by yourself and Francois is very helpful as I always get his reply very fast and meet my requests. The apartment is not in the downtown, but with Metro and bus, it’s easy to reach city center. The apartment, city and people are totally out of my expectation, so I think I’ll come again with my family. Next trip, I’ll still choose to stay at Francois place.
Yenchiujo, Taipei, Taiwan

Great Location and Value

Review submitted: 18 November 2014
This a great location for a stay in Lisbon. There are hundreds of nearby cafes and restaurants. It is walking distance to attractions like the Castle ad many other landmarks and museums. The service is excellent with great communication. The apartment is clean and neat and the living room is large. the kitchen is stocked with pots and pas and cutlery etc. It is about a 10 Euro cab ride from the airport ad walking distance or an even cheaper cab ride to/from the Rossio train station, and not far from the Metro. The owner and contact are friendly. In the evening you can hear Fado being sung in he restaurants on the street below. The owner has prepared a nice guidebook to nearby attractions and to Lisbon. Good value all around.
Malcolm, Australia

Bem

Review submitted: 19 October 2014
We had an excellent stay. The location is fantastic. It feels very authentic and not so much touristy even though it’s walking distance to everything.  A few quick notes for what’s in the apartment for those who need to know details in advance. Apartment contains:

Cable television with most channels in English with Portuguese subtitles (USA shows) or in Portuguese (local shows). There’s plenty to watch in English (multiple channels), no need to bring your own media.
Toaster
Clock/radio alarm clock
Telephone
Refridgerator
Juicer
Microwave
clothes washer
air drying rack for clothes
Iron w/ ironing board
hairdryer
Full kitchen (dishes, glasses, corkscrew and bottle opener, sharp knife, cutting board, etc.)
A few basics like a little bit of dish soap, toilet paper, towels, garbage bags, clothes washing soap, etc.
Stereo CD player
A few small/simple games and deck of cards
A small selection of books
A small safe
There is a good lock on the door and it is on the 2nd floor of the building. The area is very safe and quiet even in the middle of the night. Don’t come here if you are a loud party animal.  We did the pre-arranged taxi deal and it was as promised and everything went very smoothly.  Make sure you do your local wine/snacks shopping and try the dining options on nearby Rua dos Remedios.
Keith, USA

Very pleasant stay in the heart of Alfama

Review submitted: 7 September 2014
We stayed in the apartment for 5 nights at the end of August. The apartment is very comfortable, has everything you need and is perfectly located in the middle of Alfama. You will have Alfama residents as neighbours, not other tourists. Very good experience of the city. Nobody bothered us for the whole stay and Francois let us stay few hours longer to suit our flight. He gave us useful tips on how to explore Lisbon. We will consider coming again and we definiteley recommend the stay. We already recommended the place to our friends.
Ula, Manchester, UK

Super emplacement

Review submitted: 28 August 2014
Un super séjour en plein cœur de Lisbonne. Nous n’aurions pu rêver mieux pour ce qui est de l’emplacement (on entendait le fado depuis le salon!) et François a été à la fois très pro et très sympa. Nous ne pouvons que recommander cet appartement !
Marion, Berlin, Germany

Clean and close to shopping

Review submitted: 14 April 2014
We were only here for two nights but we had a wonderful stay in alfama. We were able to walk there from the airport and then we used the driver service on the way back since our flight was leaving early. Apartment was very clean and had all the amenities. Owner was very helpful throughout booking process and stay. Loved the free breakfast spot. I would definitely recommend this spot.
Michelle, Ohio, USA

Calidad a buen precio y buen trato!

Review submitted: 24 January 2014
Estuvimos 3 días. Se encuentra bien localizado en uno de los barrios más emblemáticos e históricos de la ciudad por donde es recomendable pasear. En todo momento nos sentimos cómodos y seguros. Lisboa es una ciudad encantadora, con encanto, atrayente… tengo que volver. La estáncia en alfama House es muy recomendable.
Javier, Sevilla, Spain

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: 15 January 2014
Spent 6 days in alfama house with great experience. Very nice apartment and everything very well fits apartment description. Bed is comfortable. Kitchen is very well equipped. You can buy grocery in nearby train station supermarket and cook for yourself. Francois kindly offers a computer with high speed internet while we didn’t use it. Wifi signal is excellent for our own laptops. The apartment is in a fantastic location and central for all great sites. Everything is walkable with 10 minutes walking to Castle de San Jorge and Se de Lisboa as well as 15 minutes walking to Praca do Comercio where one can take train #15 to Belem to visit Padrao dos Descobrimentos, Torre de Belem and Mosteiro dos Jeronimos. As described, famous #28 tram stop is nearby. Francois is really nice and very helpful and responses to all questions very quickly. As our back home flight was at 8 o’clock in the evening, we asked if we can check out late. Francois kindly let us stay until afternoon. We really appreciate it. Staying alfama house was a wonderful experience. If we get the opportunity to come back, we will definitely stay at alfama house again. We highly recommend it to friends who will go to Lisbon.
WW, Canada

Great location, excellent apartment

Review submitted: 7 December 2013
Staying at Alfama house was a great experience. The apartment is in a great position and allows you to experience local life easily. It was clean and well looked after. The information booklet, breakfast voucher and walking tour voucher are a thoughtful touch. Definitely would stay here again. Thank you.
Olaf, Melbourne, Australia

Very Good Experience

Review submitted: 12 November 2013
The alfama house is ideally located if one like the quint in the flow of the local life in old Lisbon. Several good restaurants are within a short walking distance from the apartment, including a Fado cellar/restaurant for those who like it. The accommodations are clean and comfortable, with all the necessary attributes to feel at temporarily at home. The stair case to the apartment is steep (2nd floor) but very manageable. Nearby tramway system is good and allow for easy travel around the city. We recommend it!
JMB, Washington, USA

Fabulous holiday in a fabulous flat in fabulous alfama

Review submitted: 6 July 2013
We had a wonderful holiday in Lisbon and I think that was in large part because our flat was located in the heart of alfama with its rich culture and strong community feeling. All the local people were extremely welcoming and friendly and it was nice to be able to go out at any time of night and feel perfectly safe. There are lots of interesting places in which to dine out and a first rate local supermarket. The flat itself was very comfortable indeed and had all the facilities you could possibly wish for including internet access and a truly superb shower. The view from the balcony was lovely and we were very sorry to have to leave at the end of our holiday. I might add that it was very nice to have Francois on hand to answer any questions that we had during the visit.
Hiroko & GeorgeSurrey, England

So much more than a concert trip

Review submitted: 3 July 2013
What an awesome trip. Excellant comunication throughout nothing to much trouble. Was like home from home. The month of June is celebration of their Saint so garland etc in the streets was like carnival atmosphere (we could hear the fado at night which was nice) main dates is 12/13 June We were there at the end of the month for Bon Jovi concert at Vista Da Bella park which was brilliant. We used metro very easy color coded with 4 lines but there was a strike so we used taxis aswell very reasonable compared to UK. You can get 24 hr card for 6 euros travel on all trams metro buses really good value you must go on the old trams.The bakery next door does the best cheese pastie and custard pie ever had and you get a voucher for 2 people for a breakfast. It’s worth treking up the hill to st georges castle for the view and visit the new lisbon with aquarium and shopping centre and view of the Gama bridge longest in europe at 11 miles. Go on the cable car and walk back it goes for a mile along seafront 4 euros single trip. But if you want traditional lisbon alfama house is the only place to stay. I will be going back as still so much to do and see .Lisbon is great and Alfama house is the best.

Great Location, Great apartment

Review submitted: 13 December 2012
We spent three days here in October. The apartment is homey, modern and has everything one needs. The location is in the middle of alfama, so you can walk everywhere easily and get the real “feel” of old Lisbon. Highly recommended. The apartment is on the third floor so if stairs are an issue, you may want to reconsider.
Linda, Alberta, Canada

Cozy and modern in the heart of alfama

Review submitted: 11 December 2012
My fiancee and I stayed in the alfama House apartment for 3 nights in November of 2012. Staying here and experiencing the alfama neighborhood is like going back in time. Out the window you will literally see the neighbors hanging their laundry and their kids playing. Although right on top of the neighbors and street, the apartment closes up nicely for privacy and the neighborhood is very quiet at night. Our favorite memories from Lisbon are wandering through the maze of streets and alleys of alfama. Francois includes a coupon for the Lisbon Walking tour which we highly recommend your first day in Lisbon, as well as a coupon for breakfast at a cafe just steps from the front door. The owners are accommodating, doing all they can to ensure a wonderful stay.  Note: Alfama and the building are not for those with mobility issues as the streets are cobblestone and hilly and the building has steep stairs to access the apartment with no lift.
N.E., Minneapolis, USA

Living in an authentic place in a lively environment: The alfama

Review submitted: 11 October 2012
The apartment is situated in a nice neighborhood in the heart of alfama – the old (and still) worker’s district of Lisbon. It was well-prepared for our stay and especially for the needs of our baby: The owner arranged for a baby bed and a bouncer. From the very beginning – that is even before arriving – the contact with the owner was very helpful and friendly, be it in regard of how to get to the apartment or what to do in Lisbon once arrived. The home is a tiny place in a house that has kept its medieval structures (unfortunately the water pressure in the shower has, too) but still provides enough space for two and a half. It is furnished with an eye to detail and very comfortable. We took our breakfast every morning in the alfama bakery next to the apartment – don’t miss it, it’s very good, friendly and not expensive. In the evening you don’t have to go to a Fado place as you can hear Fado until midnight – the neighborhood is really authentic and communicative. For people who don’t mind a lively environment alfama House is just perfect.
Susanne, Berlin.

Ein perfekter Stadt-/ Strandurlaub

Review submitted: 3 September 2012
Dieses appartment liegt mitten im Herzen des wunderschönen alfama-Viertels und wurde im Frühjahr diesen Jahres renoviert. Es ist perfekt für zwei Personen und auch die ausstattung (insbesondere der Küche) lässt für einen Städtetrip keine Wünsche offen! Perfekter ausgangspunkt für Stadterkundungen und auch der öffentliche Nahverkehr ist nur wenige Minuten von der Haustür entfernt. Keine störenden autogeräusche, lediglich die Nachbarschaft kann man ab und zu bei ihren Unterhaltungen auf der Straße belauschen… aber für dieses Feeling möchte man ja auch in einem ursprünglichen und authentischen Viertel wohnen! Gastronomie&eine; Spitzenbäckerei befinden sich im Umkreis von mehreren 100m! Francois,der Eigentümer, ist jederzeit per Mail zu erreichen&war; mit seinen Tipps stets hilfreich! Alles in allem einfach nur empfehlenswert…wir hoffen bald wieder einmal dort wohnen zu dürfen!!!
Sarah, Germany

Cosy place, beautiful area, and very nice owner

Review submitted: 20 August 2012
Everything was great with the alfama House. The place is nice, in the heart of the alfama area, probably the most beautiful place in Lisboa. The appartment itself has everything it should have, it is perfect fitted for two people. The kitchen and the bathroom are clean, the bed it quite little but comfortable, and the living room is well decorated. Last but not least, François, the owner, is a great guide to Lisboa. He answered our email shortly with great pieces of advice, and helped us have a great time in Portugal. Do not hesitate, the Alfama House is close to perfect.
Florian, Paris

Cozy place, in a authentic barrio, with all the basics covered

Review submitted: 3 August 2012
Alfama is a beautiful, authentic neighborhood, filled with locals, places to eat and hear live music. Located right by a plaza and the Fado museum, it’s easy to find and explore from. A great home base; very simple and comfortable.
Martin, Chicago USA

We’ll be going back

Review submitted: 25 July 2012
My wife and I stayed at the alfama house apartment for six days in June. The apartment is centrally located in the alfama district, and is close to the metro, bus, and other transportation services. The apartment was very clean and well laid out. It is close to dining, grocery and other services. Don’t worry about going to a restaurant to listen to Fado, simply get a bottle of wine, kick back at the apartment and open the window. To keep this short, I will say that my wife and I enjoyed our stay at the alfama house immensely and will be going back to stay there again.
Phill Connors, Portland, USA 

The best Lisbon has to offer!

Review submitted: 19 July 2012
The apartment was perfect in every sense. Francois, the owner, gave us tremendous insight into Lisbon, and answered every question/email in a timely manner. The location is ideal…right in the heart of the old alfama district. You are walking distance to most sights, and truly live amongst the locals. The apartment itself is renovated, clean and modern. The washing machine was handy, and having a full kitchen was also a plus. Wifi access was reliable, and the bakery nearby was a great place for breakfast and delicious treats. The apartment made our stay in Lisbon memorable and comfortable. I would rent again without hesitation.
John, Canada

Great Location, Great Flat!

Review submitted: 6 July 2012
Enjoyed every aspect of our stay at the alfama House flat – we will stay here again. Great location, in the middle of warren of alleys and roads, away from the touristy areas, five minute walk to a half dozen or more neighborhood restaurants. Center of Lisbon easily accessible by foot. We walked everwhere except for a train trip to Sitra. Go see the castles there and as well as the one in Lisbon. 15 minute walk to train station that can take you down the coast to the sea side areas. Flat is very “new,” very well appointed and comfortable.
MJ Ott, Washington DC

Well appointed and compact, short walk to centre of Lisbon

Review submitted: 3 July 2012
The apartment has all you would need; washing machine & iron, fan, cooking facilities etc – as described in the advertisement. Comfy apartment, (incl. the bed!) in the heart of alfama – so be warned, not your thing if you can’t walk uphill, get lost easily, don’t like the smell of grilling sardines :) or can’t cope with neighbours talking to eachother across windows in the street. One of the best things about staying in this apartment is the wonderful assistance provided by Francois, including being met in order to guide you to the flat, lots of local tips for restaurants, the better Fado venues, attractions, etc. He even provides additional information on the computer/internet provided for use by guests. Around 10-15min walk into the centre of Lisbon; easy to get to the metro (tourist tram No. 28 runs through alfama). You have very easy access to a number of restaurants, shops where you can pick up provisions. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
Mary, Melbourne, Australia

Disappointing

Review submitted: 3 July 2012
Alfama is a lovely area and Lisbon a beautiful and friendly city. Unfortunately when we were there, the buildings opposite alfama House were under reconstruction which made the street and the apartment very gloomy. Some work had been done in the apartment which had not worked out very well and the bathroom flooded every time we used it – maybe this has been put right now. It might be nicer in summer when the lack of sunlight could be an advantage.
Gill E., Tiverton, U.K.

A taste of the real Lisbon

Review submitted: 24 June 2012
We loved the contrast between the modern amenities in the apartment and the older, more traditional surroundings of alfama. This meant we were able to enjoy our holiday in extreme comfort, while at the same time experiencing a taste of the real Lisbon and the good-nature of the people of alfama. The festival of Santo antonio was fantastic and we feel very lucky to have timed our visit for this period. The service we received from Francois was very attentive and we would not hesitate to return to the same place as we know that we would get the very best service and be in a part of Lisbon which really inspires us.
Becky & Tony, Liverpool, UK

Comfortable and Convenient

Review submitted: 20 June 2012
Alfama House was a beautiful home away from home. We came into Lisbon via the Santa apolonia Station which was very close to the apartment. The alfama neighborhood was beautiful and gearing up for a festival while we were there in the end of May. The little balcony was perfect, you can just see the river when looking out and down the hill, beautiful. The kitchen was well equipped and we were able to cook several meals for ourselves. Also, the restaurant and fado recommendations in the house book were great!
S. Martin, Montréal, Canada

El apartamento perfecto para disfrutar de Lisboa

Review submitted: 1 June 2012
Es genial, ubicado en un barrio tranquilo y muy turístico, lleno de encanto, y además a cinco minutos del centro de Lisboa. Tiene todas las comodidades que necesitas y una decoración ideal para sentirte como en casa. Es perfecto tanto para ir solo o en pareja y poder disfrutar de una ciudad tan bonita y llena de contrastes como es Lisboa.
Diana, Valladolid, Spain

Quatre nuits à Lisbonne

Review submitted: 25 May 2012
Appartement bien situé dans le quartier le plus sympathique de la ville (ruelle assez pentue). Pas très grand mais confortable et bien equipé. Un plus: proche de la gare (15 mn à pied avec les valises) des arrets de bus et d’une station de metro, proche également de la ligne 28 de tram. Un bon rapport qualité/prix.
Jean-Marie, Nancy, France

Great time, nice appartment, super helpful people…!

Review submitted: 21 May 2012
We had a great time in this appartment. It has everything you need; practical and cosy at the same time. The neighbourhood is lively and typical. Grandmoms are overlooking the narrow hilly streets day and night, people greet you friendly but are not afraid to play some loud rock music at the same time; it is cool. We saw the biggest fish ever being trolleyed uphill by three man. The bakery closeby is a hit, a perfect start of the day. The alndlord is very helpful, as are the people on the street. The appartment is conveniently located on walking distance of many nice sites. All in wrth your while. We had a great holiday. Enjoy!
N., The Metherlands

Wonderful apartment

Review Submitted: 19 April 2012
The alfama House was everything we expected and more! My boyfriend and I just got back from our trip to Lisbon and it was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. Francois answered all of my questions about Lisbon and about the apartment right away, easing all of my concerns. The apartment is the perfect size for a couple and the location is fantastic. We found it very easy to walk to the downtown area as well as the subway when needed. Breakfast at the bakery only a few doors down from the apartment was very good, we went daily! Overall it was an amazing experience and we would recommend it to anyone looking to rent in Lisbon!
Brittany S., New York.

Cosy comfort in a fantastic city

Review Submitted: 7 February 2012
The appartment is very cosy and clean and everything is there to relax from a bussy day of sightseeing. It is easy to move around in the city, the train /metro-station is nearby. Also the friendly bakkery, just a few houses away, was very handy. You can have breakfast there or take away sandwiches. There are enough restaurants in the neighbourhood. The pc and free internet is also a plus!
Peter & Rita, Antwerp, Belgium

Feels like home away from home!

Review Submitted: 4 February 2012
Felt like my own house in this charming flat located in alfama. One of the famous quarters of Lisbon.Very central,cosy,clean and with a nice and delicious breakfast included. No need to bring a computer you have access to one with internet. It stays at a walking distance from all the interesting sites. Could not ask for more. You will not regret your holidays. Highly recommended.
Fatima, Madrid.

A comfortable house in the heart of Lisbon

Review Submitted: 3 January 2012
Nice and comfortable flat in alfama, very close to the centre area with all the facilities to feel that you are at home. We enjoy our stay and Francois had everything ready for our arrival. We recommend it.
Cronopios, Vigo, Spain

Holiday in central Lisbon

Review Submitted: 23 December 2011
We had a great time in alfama, one of the oldest districts in Lisbon. The area is very charming and offers local flavours that we will not forget. Alfama House was a nice cosy place to have as a base. It’s in the middle of alfama and a walking distance from other tourist attractions. The breakfast offered by the owner was a plus and the computer and internet link made the day planning much easier. We recommend it strongly.
Teresa, London

Good facilities, good location

Review Submitted: 22 December 2011
Situated in the alfama district this apartment is in easy walking distance of the city centre and various means of public transport. The apartment is in very good condition and has all the facilities required.
Michael, Cannes.

Great location and high speed computer the added bonus…

Review Submitted: November 23, 2011
The apartment is compact but ideal for a couple. The location is great. Only minutes from buses/Tram 28 and 5-10 easy walk to the train station. Breakfast at the local bakery was a lovely surprise and very filling! A tiny cafe about 20 houses down the hill on the left hand side serves the best sangria. Francois was a good host and met us at the arranged spot just around the corner from the apartment (up windy pedestrian streets , so first time was important to be directed there!)
Michele, Sydney

A wonderful stay

Review Submitted: October 22, 2011
My husband and I stayed at the alfama House for three nights in October. We wished we could have stayed longer. The apartment and its location was the perfect ending to our two week journey through Spain and Portugal. The alfama House is centrally located and walking distance to some of the best parts of Lisboa. And when our feet would carry us no further, the public transportation (train, trolley, subway and ferry) system was very easy to reach and navigate from the alfama House. We couldn’t have asked for a better experience in a more culturally rich community. The apartment met all of our needs, and the opportunity to submerge ourselves in the alfama District, has left a lasting impression that we experienced something very special and unique we will never forget. Francois, the owner of the alfama House, left us a hand written guide to the alfama District, which we took advantage of. In particular, dinner and the Fado performances at Dragao de alfama, were amazing. We also took the ferry across the Tejo River and had sunset drinks at atira te ao rio and then a clams and crab dinner at Cabrinha, Francois recommended. Make time for these experiences, you won’t be disappointed. Francois also left us a voucher for a complementary breakfast at the bakery a few doors down from the alfama House (same side of the road). Their ham and cheese (with butter) croissant sandwich topped our list of favorite breakfasts. We fell in love with Portugal and can’t wait to return and stay at the alfama House again.
D.Harney, Chelsea, MI

Great area

Review Submitted: September 24, 2011
The area of alfama was so charming. The apartment was clean,well appointed and as promised. Cash only so be prepared.
Vince, Los Angeles

Wonderful location, fantastic apartment, great food

Review Submitted: July 25, 2011
We stayed for 4 nights at the alfama House apartment in Lisbon and had a really wonderful visit. Lisbon was an absolute joy – wonderful history, culture and food coupled with a great, modern transport system for getting about. The apartment was beautifully clean and perfectly located close to the action and within a short walk of the city centre. The owner could not have been more helpful both before and during the stay, giving excellent advice on eating out and travel. We will certainly be back!
Iain and Louise, Lecicester, UK

Wonderful Place to Stay in Lisbon!

Review Submitted: July 9, 2011
I cannot recommend the alfama House enough. From the kind advice of the owner to the fantastic location, this is an ideal vacation rental for singles or couples traveling to Lisbon. We loved the neighborhood, and couldn’t have been more comfortable in the apartment. You won’t find a better deal anywhere else!
Beki, Brooklyn, NY

Lovely apartment, excellent service

Review Submitted, June 29, 2011
This is a lovely little apartment situated in the heart of alfama, a charming pedestrian district (which is very hilly, so not recommended for people who don’t want a little exercise!) Two metro stops from the centre of town (or a short walk and the 28 tram to most tourist destinations) this is a lovely apartment which has everything you need (washing machine, nice lounge with TV and stereo, comfy bed, fridge freezer and hob). The contact Francois is lovely and incredibly helpful, and check in and check out was easy and fast. Excellent value for money, would stay here again.
Rachel K, London

In the heart of it

Review Submitted: June 12, 2011
The apartment is in the traditional alfama area with its lanes, ladies hanging out laundry and chatting on their doorsteps. The apartment was perfect for our three nights in Lisbon. The PC with free internet access in the apartment was a life saver, it meant that we didn’t need to stress about planning itineraries we just went online each morning and planned what we would do. The bedroom is cosy but we used the living room to store our suitcases. We went to the supermarket in the train station which is a 7 min walk away and got food in for breakfast. The bakery beside the apartment is fab, we got pastries every morning. Lisbon is a great city with lots to keep you busy, without the pressure of having to tick off loads of icons. The city is easy to get around and taxis are really cheap. We went on the 28 tram, did a bit of walking around and went for a night out in Bairro alto which is buzzing. Alfama is full of hidden gems local and traditional restaurants in particular the BBQ restaurant which is down the lane from the apartment. Go at 8 to get a seat as it very popular with locals on weekends. I would highly recommend this apartment for a short stay in the heart of the old Lisbon, Alfama.
David, London

Great flat in old town

Review Submitted: June 7, 2011
This flat is right in the alfama, a stone’s throw from the Fado Museum – a clean and tidy place with all necessary facilities, and the landlord was friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.
Adrian, London

Lovely apartment in Lisbon

Review Submitted: May 22, 2011
A cosy apartment in the quaint alfama area of Lisbon. It really is a home away from home and has everything you would every need in a vacation rental. It is surrounded by restaurants, cafes and plenty of mini markets – plus a great bakery just a few doors down. Francois is a great landlord and was in touch throughout the booking and rental period to make sure everything was acceptable. I highly recommend staying here.
Wickland, Leeds

In the middle of alfama

Review Submitted: May 8, 2011
The appartment is very good in the middle of alfama. Alfama is the finest part of Lisbon. I´m sorry, but we missed a balcony or a terasse on the roof. This would be perfect!!!
Thomas & Beate, Bremen, Germany

Walking up and down alfama

Review Submitted: May 7, 2011
We had the luck of visiting Lisbon in spring: nicely warm weather helpful people and last but not least we enjoyed the stay in alfama House very much. We found the apartment being exactly as described in the Internet. It was located on the 2nd floor of a building without elevator, it was clean, in order and we found everything we needed from the apartment and even more – the umbrella, the English – Portuguese dictionary, the coffee machine, the TV (~200 channels to watch) and the PC with Internet connection. We only bought a shower gel as everything else could be found from alfama House.To split hairs we could add that the bed may be too short for tall guests (maybe >190 cm). The neighbour on the basement didn’t like the door to be slammed: she yelled something at us in Portuguese. And also she used to call for her daughter Caterina every single evening at about 18-19hrs.
Laura & Jukka, Helsinki

Alfama house

Review Submitted: May 3, 2011
Once you get through the tough climb from Chafariz de Dentro up Rua da Regueira you are welcomed by a delightful flat. Very comfortable, all de little details taken care of and a small but nice kitchen fully equipped. The computer connected to the net and available for guests is a nice touch. The location is also great. Besides being in alfama with its narrow little streets full of small bars and restaurants (fado!!!) it is conveniently located. We were able do walk from alfama to Cidade Baixa e to alta without difficulty ( we both over 60!). Great place to stay. Beats a hotel room anytime.
Fabio and Susan, Austin, TX

Great place

Review Submitted: April 20, 2011
A modern apartment ideally located to explore Lisbon’s old town. The flat was fitted with everything needed to give a traveler full independence (internet, washing machine, full kitchen equipment).
GM, Nottingham, UK

Live among locals in old European neighborhood

Review Submitted: April 14, 2011
My husband and I will remember our three days at alfama House as some of the most memorable and most cherished days of our two week trip abroad. What a privilege it was to live among the truly lovely people of the alfama area! Francois’ apartment had everything we needed and more. The space is clean and nicely furnished. Pack lightly knowing that you will be able to wash your clothes in the machine and hang them to dry outside on the lines…just as all the neighbors do. We enjoyed listening to Portugese music on the cds and player provided, although at night we could hear Fado through our open windows…for free! Just a few doors down is a bakery that we visited each morning for coffee and croissants. Across the steet and down (the first one you will see, on a corner)is a wonderful restaurant run by a couple from the area. Just a few doors past is a place to buy produce…we bought the most delicious strawberries for 65c for a small bag. There is a larger market in the train station. Not everyone speaks English, but if you make the effort to learn a few key words…bom dia, por favor, obrigado…you will be fine. The family living in the ground floor apt. was very helpful in a couple of instances. The young daughter speaks English. The location of the apt. is within walking distance of everything. The new computer in the apartment will assist you in making trip plans, emails, etc. Francois is more than willing to give suggestions as well…wines, cheeses, etc. He responded to all my emails in a very timely manner. From my initial correspondance with Francois, I knew we were in for a wonderful experience. I am so happy that we took a chance on alfama House. We hope to return someday and will definately recommend it to our friends and family.
Karen, Wilmington, Delaware USA

Cozy little pad in old quarter

Review Submitted: April 5, 2011
Nice position, need to be fit, no traffic noise, excellent bakers. Our first and not our last visit to Lisbon made all the better with Francois’s advice and directions. We will be back…
S., South West Midlands, UK

Great week in Lisbon

Review Submitted: April 3, 2011
Apartment was clean and had everything one might need: high speed computer, well equipped kitchen, comfortable double bed and tv news stations in English and French. The neighbourhood had lots of small shops with great coffee and pastries and it was an easy spot from which to explore the city. Francois was very helpful and answered emails quickly if one had problems of any sort. Would certainly stay again !
Pierre and Naisi, Quebec, Canada

Home from home apartment

Review submitted: January 13, 2011
A lovely compact apartment with everything you could possibly need and more. Close to the Fado Museum, which is a must to visit, the local Tram 28, St Jorge Castelle and Saint apolinia station where there is a supermarket. The owner, Francois is very co-operative, helpful and if there is a problem don’t dwell on it, just mention it to him. How fantastic to have not only the internet but a computer to keep in touch and search. I recommend the little bakery down the road – fabulous chocolate croissants. It is lovely have the little balcony to look out and test the weather. I will definetely use the apartment for another short visit to Lisbon. Neighbours are all nice and helpful too.
Pat, Bexleyheath, Kent, UK

Very cute apartment in Lisboa!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011
We really enjoyed our stay in Lisbon, especially thanks to the great apartment we rented in la Alfama. It is a very lively neighborhood (although surprisingly quiet at night – we had no problem at all to sleep!) with a lot of things to do and plenty of places where to eat! Everything we needed for our stay was provided inside the apartment and the owner gave us some great advice. Great communication!
Alexis, Lille, France.

Lovely well equipped apartment in quaint Alfama

Review submitted: January 1, 2011
I rented this apartment for 6 days over the Christmas period. It is very convenient, lots to do nearby, easy access to get around locally, into town, to the beautiful coastal resort of Cascais (bus 28 from station area to Cais do Sodre then train to Cascais 3.45euros return), Expo and Vasco da Gama bridge, Belem where a visit to the famous Pasteis de Belem. Don’t miss the Musee de Coches whilst there! and of course other well known monuments. Just a fiew doors down from the apartment is the fabulous little bakery to get fresh croissants and rolls every morning. The fabulous Fado museum is a must and eating/drinking al fresco in the little town square opposite the museum (where the Fado restuarants) are gives you the true feeling of Alfama. A short uphill walk to the Castelo de Sao Jorge offering fantastic views over Lisbon. The apartment has everything possible for your comfort and home from home experience whilst visiting Lisbon. I wll definetely make another visit to Lisbon as I did not have the opportunity of visiting one of the Fado restuarants during the evening and there is only one place I will be staying and that is this apartment.
Trishann, Bexleyheath, UK.

Great stay at Alfama House

Review submitted: November 16, 2010
We have only arrived home from our visit to Portugal and Spain.  It was a pleasure to have stayed at Alfama house while visiting Lisbon. You set a very high standard for other holiday rental properties and owners that wasn’t matched by any other we visited on our 5 and half week holiday. I especially enjoyed drinking my cup ot tea and eating a delicious custard tart (that I bought from the great bakery located a few doors down the street) in the comfortable loungeroom listening to your selction of Portugese CDs while browsing through the bookshelf. Thank you for the wonderful experience we had while staying at Alfama House. We we be recommending your property to friends and family who will visit Lisbon.
LoopyLyn, Sydney, Australia

A charming home away from home

Review submitted: November 11, 2010
Alfama House is truly your home away from home! Located in a narrow alley in a charming old residential area that is lively by day but quiet at night, this small but cozy appartment offers all modern comfort. The flat is close to restaurants, fado clubs, interesting little shops, bakeries and so on. All the famous spots in Alfama are practically around the corner. Famous Tram 28 is a 5 min. walk away, Santa Apolonia Station or Terreiro do Paco Metro and Tagus ferries are a 10 min. walk. Highly recommended, though mobility reduced persons could face problems with the steep staircase.
Rainer, Koblenz, Germany.

We will go back anytime!

Review submitted: October 18, 2010
We had a wonderful time in Lisbon and, if we read the reviews, Alfama House proved to be once more a great place to stay. Comfortable, clean and charming. Right in the middle of Alfama, at a walking distance of everything. Having a PC with internet was a great plus. Many thanks to the owner for his great support. We’ll be back!
Catherine F., Boston.

Alfama House is a-Maze-ing

Review submitted: September 15, 2010
On arrival next to Fado Museum, which cost us 15 Euros from the airport by Taxi, we were greeted by the patiently waiting woman. It took approx. 5 – 10 min walk. There is so much positive atmosphere in alfama, and it became apparent the more we familiarised ourselves with the area. We stayed 2 weeks, which we were told is very unsual, as usually visitors only hire the apartment for a week at most. Our cases were placed in the hall area next to a computer station which has fast internet access and helped us a great deal. The kitchen has everything a cook needs to use, and an excellent washing machine, fridge and freezer. The bathroom is of good size, considering the size of the apartment itself, with an excellent shower.Though it does take a little getting used to getting the temp right. The living quaters, i.e. bathroom and living room are great and nicely furnished, with a flat screen TV and an array of channels of many different languages. The beed is comfy and wide enough for two people for a good sleep. At the beginning, because of no aircon, we had to use the modern ventilator to cool us down during our sleep, but after a few days we no longer needed it. In the morning we used to waken at 10am, sometimes because of churchbells, the temperature or generally voices from outside. Though we always had a good sleep. Once we woke up we decided to explore the surrounding area. When you walk down the path you walked up to the flat you walk past bakers, fruitshop, and some restaurants. Alfama tends to have a wide choice of restaurants, but if you want to know what specific restaurants are good or to avoid, then don’t hesitate to contact us. Generally a great place to stay, never got boring and the efficient and cheap transport system will allow you to explore anywhere very conveniently. A special thanks to Francois and the people at the bottom of the building, next to the main door, very friendly and welcoming.
SL, Edinburgh

Unforgettable and wonderful place

Review Submitted: July 29, 2010
Top location and a very cute apartment. If you like to experience a city when you visit, rather than just stay in another mundane hotel, then this is the place for you. Alfama House is right in the middle of an alfama neighborhood where everyday life goes on around you in all of its color, sound and glory. A great location and a compact, cute apartment with a lovely feel, free access to the internet and a washing machine, all of which make travelling super easy. Loved it and miss it!
Flyinghorse, Gippsland.

Inccredible appartement very well located!

Review Submitted: July 29, 2010
We had a great stay in Lisbon and staying in this lovely apartment made our stay even more memorable. Located in Alfama close to a bakery, markets, restaurants within walking distance to the old Lisbon, we enjoyed coming back to “our” apartment after a day of exploring the city. The apartment was very well furnished and we could find everything we needed to cook a dinner in the kitchen. The computer with internet access was also very useful! The owner, Francois, was very friendly and he helped us plan our stay in Lisbon.
jasdou, Quebec, Canada

Good place, had a great time

Date Submitted: July 23, 2010
I had the best of times in Lisbon. What a wonderful city. The feeling was helped by staying at Alfama House. Internet access with its own PC made it a breeze to plan our days. The owner was always available and helpful. The place was small but we didn’t need more. Great quality/price ration. I strongly recommend this apartment, just like everyone else it seems!
Jed, London, UK

Great Home Away From Home

Date Submitted: June 24, 2010
Lisbon is a great place to walk and we walked miles every day. We loved our little apartment in the heart of the Alfama. Francois was very helpful – giving us suggestions of things to do, helping when we had questions. It was great having a computer – made it easy to make plans and stay in touch with our children. The apartment was comfortable and had everything we needed to make it a great stay in Lisboa.
Lucy, Westhampton, MA, USA

2 días en Alfama House

Date Submitted: April 5, 2010
Mi novio y yo alquilamos este apartamento durante 2 días en Semana Santa y nos alegramos muchísimo de haberlo hecho. Francois, su dueño, nos atendió muy amablemente, y a base de @mails hicimos todas las gestiones. Luego Madalena, una portuguesa muy simpática, nos llevó al apartamento y nos dío su teléfono por si surgiera algún problema durante nuestra estancia allí, cosa que no ocurrió porque todo funcionó a la perfección.  La casa es pequeña pero acogedora y cálida, con espacio suficiente para 2 personas. La cocina está muy bien equipada, no le falta de nada, y el cuarto de baño pequeñito, pero cómodo y limpio. Tiene ordenador conectado a internet, un lujo!!!, equipo de música, TV y un buen sofa, y la cama super cómoda. Hemos estado muy a gusto y repetiríamos sin dudarlo. Está muy bien situado y conectado, con paradas de metro, tranvía y autobús muy cerca, por lo que en pocos minutos llegas a cualquier sitio. El barrio es muy tranquilo y la gente muy amable. En la misma calle teníamos tiendas de comestibles, fruteria, pescadería, bares para comer, restaurantes con espectáculos de fados, y hasta una pastelería. En fin, que nos ha encantado el apartamento, es perfecto para una pareja, lo recomendamos a todos. Hemos estado muy a gusto en casa de Francois, y repetiríamos sin dudarlo. Lisboa es una ciudad preciosa, con mil sitios para ver o simplemente callejear. Anímense todos!!!
P.S.A, Sevilla, Spain

Feels like home

Date Submitted: March 31, 2010
Alfama House definitely lives up to its billing as one of the best reviewed places online. We stayed there for 3 nights, and didn’t regret a single one! Francois, the owner, was very helpful from the initial contact, and provided all the useful info and booking assistance. For me booking all the way from Malaysia, this was very convenient. With a 15 Euro discount for a cab ride from the airport to start with, and easy directions, the Alfama House is a cosy one bedroom apartment, situated in the heritage area of Alfama, right in the middle of the Fado origins. 5 minutes walk from a main train station, and with many restaurants for you to choose. This accommodation made an already wonderful experience in Lisbon all the more pleasant. Laundry facilities, free broadband-internet, and cable tv made the stay feel almost luxurious :D. I’d definitely keep Alfama House as one of the tops stays i’ve had overseas, and hope that i can visit beautiful Lisbon again.
ipohwalla, Penang, Malaysia

Will remember this holiday for a long time

Date Submitted: February 1, 2010
We were amazed by the beauty of the city and friendliness of the locals. We had heard about it but could not believe how real it is. Lisbon is a pearl to be discovered over and over again. It was brilliant. Alfama and our apartment were great. It felt like home from home. The place was clean, modern and right in the middle of it all. It was great to have access to a computer and the internet to plan our days out. We recommend this apartment to anyone.
Cshe, Cork, Ireland

Alfama – Best place to be.

Date Submitted: January 27, 2010
We stayed a few days – not enough! – in Lisbon and loved the place. It’s a mix of Europe and Africa. Great atmosphere. Slow pace. Modern life yet the corner shops still exist. We’ll be back. Stayed at Alfama House and loved to be in the Alfama district. It was like a small village within the city. The owner was available on email all the time to answer our questions. We contacted him using the PC of the apartment. He also paid for our taxi ride from the airport! The flat was modern and comfortable. Just a great holiday. We fully recommend this apartment.
JDi, Funchal

The best choice I could have made!

Date Submitted: January 13, 2010
I’ve spent a week in Lisbon at the Alfama House with my girlfriend and we couldn’t stop remarking to each other how lucky we were to have found this place online. If you plan to walk or use public transportation rather than driving, the location is perfect: right in the heart of the Alfama, with several sights, churches, museums and places to visit within walking distance. The atmosphere in the neighborhood is unforgettable. The apartment is very nice and well-kept, and having a fully equipped kitchen, a washing machine and a fast computer with internet access makes your life as a tourist much easier. Moreover, the owner is extremely friendly and helpful and the overall price was surprisingly reasonable, considering all the amenities that the place offers. I would definitely return to the Alfama House if I’m ever spending time in Lisbon again.
Diego, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Wonderful place!

Date Submitted: December 18, 2009
My Husband and I travelled to Lisbon/Spain/Morocco from our home in San Diego for our Honeymoon. We couldn’t have chosen a better destination or a better place as the Alfama House for the first leg of our trip.
Francois was gracious even from the beginning/planning stages answering our questions and giving some great advice. After a 17 hours of flight/lay overs it was so comforting to know that we’d be picked up when we arrived and sure enough Francois was there waiting for us and even was good enough to make the room for my husbands surfboard. He gave us great tips/advice and guidance and got us settled in at the house. The house was perfect, ideal location in the history filled, cobble stoned streets of Lisbon, the decor was lovely, the size was perfect for the two of us and the fact that there was a laptop for us to use (boy did we put it to use coordinating rental cars, finding train schedules )along with a washing machine was the icing on the cake. We felt so comfortable and at home and would stay again and again and again and recommend it highly to anyone who is considering a trip to Lisbon!
Cromford, Carlsbad, CA

Do Lisbon like a local, stay at Alfama House!

Date Submitted: December 17, 2009
We were attracted to Alfama House by other traveller reviews and we can confirm that couples or a solo wanderer wanting a romantic, rustic break from the hotel or B&B routine will be impressed. The personable Francois, himself a traveller, met us on arrival in Lisbon, and shared practical tips on Alfama life and living, en route (pick-up is free and an indispensable part of the service).

The final 200 metres to the apt. is only accessible by foot, but fear not. Francois will escort you and your bags there (and away if you ask nicely) wheeled bags are ESSENTIAL if you bring suitcases! This should not discourage travellers who are reasonably fit and able, if you have a hard time just in an Airport concourse this is not for you! Once there, you’ll find getting around Lisbon easy and cheap, with trams buses and trains all nearby. Some of the locals may look a little careworn, gazing silently from their doorways at first, but we only met with genuine warmth and civility during our stay. In Alfama, you get back what you give, smile and say hello to the elderly Portuguese lady leaning from her window near the entrance door, she’s your neighbour! At night, the area is well-lit and populated with a lively mix of locals and sightseers late into the evening, but of course, as in any big city, take sensible precautions.

The apartment itself is a wee gem! Housed in an old building, the stairs are steep and narrow as you’d expect in Europe. A sturdy communal entry door that is always locked, and a triple locking steel ‘T bar’ on the apartment door itself means you and your belongings will be safe indoors. Francois ensures you’ll want for nothing, from the Free internet, washing machine (powder included) cable TV, CD player, fully equipped kitchen -stroll a picturesque ten minutes to the supermarket ‘hidden’ in the train station. Browse the donated guide books, or leave yours behind and share the love. Breakfast on pastries baked a few doors away, sweet or savoury, the array is delicious! The cosy bedroom has great darkening shutters solid brick walls and double glazing, there’s even a bidet in the bathroom!

The pictures on the website are a true reflection of the apartment and surrounds. Step onto your balcony at sunset and soak up the atmosphere, wine in hand. Alfama is Lisbon ‘unplugged’!
Will & Felicia, Sydney Australia

Wonderful stay

Date Submitted: November 25, 2009
A great holiday in the middle of Alfama, one of the oldest area of the city. The apartment was great, very clean and well decorated. It had everything we wanted. The PC and the internet were great to have access to. The owner took a lot of time answering all our questions and the airport pick-up was a great start to the holiday. Really, I recommend the apartment and staying in the Alfama. We have no regrets and hope to go back.
MDELRO, Sevilla

Alfama is the best area by far

Date Submitted: November 16, 2009
We stayed a week in this very clean and cozy apartment. Located in the Alfama area of Lisbon, we loved the relaxed atmosphere and the feeling of being part of the community. We felt right at home, although a few thousand kilometers away from home. The owner was very friendly and the airport pick-up was certainly a plus. Having a computer and the internet in the place helped us plan better our days out. Really, one of the best area and a very nice apartment. Would recommend to anyone. Don’t hesitate!
LPCh, Portugal

Great flat, perfect location

Date Submitted: November 8, 2009
The hassle-free airport pick-up was the start of a memorable sunny holiday in Lisbon. The flat is perfectly located right in the heart of the Alfama district, about five minutes’ walk from the Se cathedral. It’s cosy, clean and comfortable and perfect for two. The flat is in a narrow cobbled street, so the neighbourly chatting of the locals can seem quite loud. However it was all very friendly and never loud at night. There’s a perfect cake and coffee shop (with fab freshly squeezed o-j) less than a minute’s walk away. The centre of town is twenty minutes’ walk. Try ‘A Baiuca’ near San Miguel down the road for great fado.
Vic2, Oxfordshire, UK

Great place to stay – Lisbon is an interesting city

Date Submitted: October 21, 2009
We (mature couple) booked in for a week. The flat is not huge but very clean and well laid out. It is in a very interesting area of Lisbon. This area is still very much a neighbourhood/street life community. Appliances etc. were all modern and worked well including the computer and internet. Flat was well stocked with soap, toilet paper etc etc. on arrival. Francois was great about the pick up and showing us everything. It is a nice stroll uphill to the castle and close to easy transport to other areas or a (longish but interesting) walk downtown.. Price was good. We really enjoyed our time here.
NB it is in an area of town where there are no cars allowed and it is a few floors up steep stairs to the flat so do not bring big suitcases!
MLM Hal, Halifax, Canada

Wonderfull apartment in unbeatable location

Date Submitted: October 11, 2009
We stayed for 4 nights in September. The apartment is very well kept,
and has all modern conveniences, including the Internet.

We were very grateful to Francois for picking us up at the airport
and taking us to the apartment; not sure if we could find it ourselves
in the maze of Alfama’s narrow streets.

At Francois suggestion we went to the Dragão de Alfama for dinner and fado;
just a few steps from the apartment. Highly recommend it.

One thing to keep in mind: you are in the area where people consider the streets to be part of their living rooms, so expect to hear neighbors talking, children crying and music playing – late at night, and early in the morning.
It is all part of the experience.
Irina & Harry, Chicago, USA

Exactly as described on the web

Date Submitted: October 9, 2009
My husband and I travelled to Spain in September and made a side trip to Lisbon, we stayed at Alfama House for 4 nights. From the beginning inquiring about the apartment to the time he picked us up at the airport, explaining everything to us and finally on our last day walked us to the taxi for the airport —François was friendly, he made us feel welcome and put us at ease in that part of the world.

The apartment is perfect for two people with everything that one would need; it was wonderful to have internet and a PC at our disposal; kitchenware, towels, soap even laundry detergent. We had rented other self-catering apartments during this trip, some of them did not supply soap, and one did not even supply toilet paper!
With its cobble stones and narrow streets, Alfama is really a special place. It is also very convenient as there are shops, bakery (just a few houses down) and restaurants close by.

Overall, we felt that the Alfama House had really good value for the money and would highly recommend it.
Thanks again François, it was a pleasure meeting you.
Susannia & Walter, Quebec/Canada

Central location

Date Submitted: 1 September 2009
The area of Alfama House is very charming. It felt like old Europe and we were very happy with the atmosphere. Local shops provide what one needs and restaurants are all over the area. The price quality ratio was great considering free internet access – with a PC – and the airport pick-up. The apartment is small but more than adequate for two people. It was cosy and comfortable. One of the best we have rented so far. It was also great to use all the conveniences found in a normal house – washing machine, etc.
The check-in was great as we got in with the owner and he explained us all the little secrets of Alfama and gave us numerous valuable tips. I strongly recommend this apartment, without any hesitations.
L.K. New York, NY, USA

Excellent souvenir de Lisbonne!

Date Submitted: 31 August 2009
Nous avons passé une formidable semaine dans un appartement calme, confortable et très propre, en plein coeur de l’Alfama. Ce quartier ressemble à un grand village et l’on s’y sent vite chez soi. Vous trouverez des petits commerces et des restaurants à proximité ainsi qu’une délicieuse patisserie dans laquelle vous pourrez déguster votre petit déjeuner. Vous ne trouverez aucune difficulté à vous déplacer dans Lisbonne, à pied ou en transports en communs (tramways, bus et gare sont à 5 min). Vous prendrez plaisir à arpenter ses ruelles étroites et à vous y perdre. Le soir, la lumière du coucher du soleil est superbe vue des belvédères. Merci encore à François pour son accueil très chaleureux. Il vient vous chercher à l’aéroport et n’hésite pas à vous conseiller sur les lieux à visiter. Lisbonne est une capitale pleine de charme et nous y reviendrions avec plaisir !
Sophie & Seyla, France.

An excellent place to stay – highly recommended

Date Submitted: 31 August 2009
My husband and I stayed here for a week at the end of July. Although I think it’s quite easy to get from the airport to the apartment, the pick-up service was wonderful. Francois was waiting for us, he’s a very friendly and helpful person and it was a pleasure to meet him. The apartment is in a beautiful location: situated in a residential area in Alfama, the old part of the city. Lovely narrow, cobbled streets with little shops, restaurants, and a bakery just steps away from the apartment. There is also a small supermarket in the Apollonia train station just a short walk away.

The apartment is very nicely decorated with more than enough space for 2 people. It has a very spacious kitchen with everything you need should you wish to cook. The bathroom is a bit narrow but fully functional and with an excellent supply of towels. The double bedroom has shelving and a wardrobe and a very comfortable double bed and very good lighting.

Having the computer with internet access was a great bonus. There is also a good collection of books, music, maps and information about Lisbon in the apartment.

We loved staying in this apartment and will definitely go back again. It was our first time in Lisbon and we have to say that everyone we met: people in shops, train stations, restaurants, trams, Fado clubs etc., were so very helpful and friendly. We’ve travelled a lot and have had lots of good experiences but we were amazed that every single person we encountered was wonderful! I can’t stress this enough.

So, don’t hesitate to go to Lisbon and to stay in this apartment. We fully recommend it. Many thanks Francois, it was a pleasure
Marie & Declan, Ireland.

What an amazing place!

Date Submitted: 22 August 2009
My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the Alfama House. It was wonderful! It is very clean and comfortable.Small but cozy. We were close to the metro and many small stores and resturants.Fado singing and good food was just a few steps away. We felt very safe and did not have any worries about walking around at night or when we got lost(we did a lot of that).Francois was very kind and helpful. It’s great to have the internet so we could keep in touch with him, if needed, and our family. Wish we could have stayed longer.
B & G, Estacada, Oregon, USA

The perfect start to a wonderful vacation

Date Submitted: July 30, 2009
We stayed at the Alfama House for a week early this June. The apartment was exactly as described, and it was a wonderful base to explore Lisbon from. We enjoyed breakfasting on fresh rolls from the pastry shop a few doors away; listening to neighbors calling out to each other across the street, and the occasional aroma of fish grilling on a small fire next door.

I knew that the Alfama is an important area for tourism, but wasn’t expecting it to be such a vibrant, and basically ungentrified neighborhood where real people live real lives. Apart from the comfort of having space to spread out in, internet access, a washing machine and a very viable kitchen, it was wonderful to be outside the tourist loop. Francois made very helpful suggestions about places to go and restaurants to try.

Other people have listed some of the activities they enjoyed most. One I haven’t seen mentioned is the Museum of Fado, which is only a few blocks from the Alfama House. It is fairly new, and is a wonderful introduction to Portugal’s national music.

We hope to return to Lisbon before too long, and will definitely stay at the Alfama House when we do
Eggiweg, New York, NY, USA

Holiday Alfama

Date Submitted: 20 July 2009
In a world of plastic realities, to live for even a week in a small village “feel” of tiny bakeries, butchers, bars and cafes (mainly frequented by local people who belong to a vibrant lively community that is both friendly and yet respects your privacy ) this was a balm for the soul. To walk narrow streets that do not have a cappucino tourist stamp on every pavement stone and yet hum with real life and activity is a gift and, in a traditional community like this, I think we all can see our own parents and grandparents on every corner and, perhaps mourn those community values they lived by .Yet, modern as we are the joys of the touristy Baixa are only a short walk away while a short 40 min (and cheap 7.40 euro return ) train ride takes you into the world of tourist beaches that is Cascais from where you can return to soothe your sunburn and your soul in the warmth of alfama. To anyone blind to my joyful superlatives, succinctly put: this is a wonderful place and the apartment and Francois help can not be faulted.
Kevin and Monica, Ireland.

Romantic Alfama Apartment

Date Submitted: 4 July 2009
We can’t say enough positive things about this apartment as a place to stay in Lisbon! If you are tired of institutional hotels in abandoned commercial districts, if you want atmosphere plus cleanliness and all the comforts of home (kitchen, internet access, TV, CD player, and more), if you like the idea of making your own coffee in the morning when and how you want, and if you relish the adventure of staying in a living Lisbon community where you step out your door onto narrow, cobbled medieval streets dotted with marvelous little restaurants, terraces for drinks and conversation, bakeries, plus venues for Lisbon’s famous fado….well, this is the place to stay. Our landlord was warm and gracious and met us at the airport and took us directly to our little apartment. He had very interesting things to say about Lisbon and the Portuguese and gave us excellent tips on what to do and where to go for music and meals. The fado and dining places he recommended were fabulous. The apartment was fresh and clean with two floor-to-ceiling double windows and balconies offering breezes and views down onto the street. Because it is on the second floor of one of the apartment buildings that line the streets in the Alfama, it would not be so suited to people with disabilities. We particularly enjoyed the neighbors who greeted us as we arrived and left and asked us how our days went. Although the neighborhood was alive with people and conversation in the day and early evening, it was quiet and easy to sleep at night and in the morning. We would give this property our highest rating to friends.
M. Wells, California, USA

Great Apartment in Perfect Location!

Date Submitted: 20 May 2009
My daughter and I stayed at Alfama House in late April to early May 2009 for seven nights and loved it. Being picked up at the airport by Francois was a wonderful bonus. We appreciated all the information and recommendations about the neighbourhood and Lisbon that he gave us – and the map! The apartment is perfect for two people, clean and well equipped for self catering. The owner has thought of everything including a computer with free internet and a washing machine. The location is excellent with only a short walk to Tram 28, metro (Santa Apolonia station), Castle Sao Jorge, Lisbon Cathedral and Fiera da Ladra. There are restaurants,markets and a bakery nearby and the neighbourhood adds to the experience. We definitely recommend this apartment and would stay again.
B & K, NWT, Canada

Wonderful Vacation!

Date Submitted: 11 May 2009
My husband and I spent 7 days at the Alfama House late March into early April this year, 2009. We LOVED the experience and location! There is no better location for feeling truly plugged into the Portuguese culture and old world living. We found a fruit stand a few streets away and paid close to nothing for enough fresh oranges to use the juicer at the apartment for a large glass a piece each morning. Francois, the owner, was incredibly helpful with the pickup at the airport as well as LOADS of information and instruction on where to go and what to do. Lisbon was the BEST trip we have been on together and my personal best, which says a lot, as I have been to most major cities in Europe. Alfama house put us where we wanted to be and allowed us to venture around the greatest area in Lisbon, as well as allowed access to the 28 Tram, which will take you to anywhere you need to go etc. I would recommend the Alfama House to my friends as well as stay again when we most definitely return! Cozy, but everything you would need for a fantastic trip to Lisbon!
Kristen & John, Mass. USA

Enjoyable Stay at Alfama House

Date Submitted: 17 March 2009 Date of Stay: February 2009
We stayed at the apartment for 11 days in Feb 2009. The place is small, very clean and comfortable…perfect for 2 people. The aptartment is within walking distance of all public transport.The small local shops carry everything you need to fix breakfast or even a complete meal.Having a washing machine is a real plus. We also got hooked on the little pastries, perfect after a long day of sightseeing. Bring comfortable shoes!! We felt very safe in the Alfama area, but be aware of pick-pockets on the #28 and #15 trams. Being picked up at the airport is great. We found Lisbon easy to navigate, only got lost once on the first day.
M & J, Florida, USA

Great Alfama Apartment

Date Submitted: 24 January, 2009 Date of Stay: January 2009
This remodeled, clean apartment is very conveniently located in the Alfama area of Lisbon. Public transportation is nearby and easy to use, markets and restaurants just around the corner.The apartment is small but had everything we needed during our 4 night stay. Free internet was an added bonus as typically internet is very expensive in Portugal. The atmosphere in the Alfama really gives you a sense of life in old Portugal. Although some guide books mention safety in the Alfama, we are two traveling mid aged women who felt completely safe in this area. We couldn’t have been happier with communications with Francois and were both picked up at the train station upon arrival and dropped off at the airport upon departure. This apartment in the Alfama is highly recommended. Thanks for a great stay Francois.
BJ & Liz, Alabama, USA

The New Year in Lisbon

Date Submitted: 7 January, 2009 Date of Stay: December 2008
We spent the New Year’s in this idyllic apartment in Alfama. It provided everything we needed; a bed, a shower, and a roof to protect us from the rain : ) The location is great and the atmosphere in Alfama is nice. The apartment is equipped with everything you need; including a PC and an Internet connection. The pick-up from the airport was also very handy. We recommend!
Katri P., Helsinki, Finland

Highly Recommended Apartment!

Date Submitted: 5 December, 2008 Date of Stay: November 2008
We were more than delighted with the apartment, it exceeded all our expectations. The apartment was very tastefully decorated and incredibly well maintained. The location was absolutely superb, we could walk to the centre of the city or hop on the tram (a daily 24hr pass gave access to bus-tram-train and was incredible value). What we really loved about the apartment and its location was its authenticity, we were living amongst the locals. We loved the old world charm with shops and eating places dotted inbetween apartments in the narrow winding streets – this all came alive in the evening. Being picked up at the airport by Francois on our arrival made it stressfree for us. He was incredibly helpful. We would recommend the apartment and location to anyone coming to Lisbon.
Les & Glenys, Melbourne, Australia

Great place to stay

Date Submitted: November 30, 2008 Date of Stay: November 2008
There is no better way to discover a new culture than to immerse in local atmosphere. The Alfama House apartment is an ideal place to do that. It is a modern, comfortable apartment located in the heart of Alfama – the place full of history, most charming area in Lisbon. Everything is within walking distance – sightseeing, metro, historical tram 28, Fado places. But the most valuable experience is to observe and listen to everyday life the way it has been for centuries. A BIG plus is that Francois met us at the airport, a lot of thanks. Another requirement, very important for us, was that we had to have access to Internet. Of course, you can use Internet cafes to check your mail, but we had to do more than that and having a computer at hand was a huge advantage.
N. & Y., Maryland, USA

Memorable Portugal Holiday!

Date Submitted: November 20, 2008 Date of Stay: November 2008
This is the best apartment I have ever stayed at! It includes everything you need. It is located in the oldest area of Lisbon and the apartment is very well renovated. It’s the best of both worlds with a lot of history narrow streets…cobble stone roads yet a warm and nice apartment. Francois is a great friendly guy who takes great pride in making your stay the best possible one. Even one of our flight’s was cancelled and he did everything he could to accommodate us. If ever you have any questions about anything during your stay you can always reach him by email from the apartment. He will tell you of good places to go see or what not to miss in order to get the whole taste of Lisbon. This home is cosy and close to everything….castle, good shopping, local bakeries, churches, tram (28), markets…you name it! We definitely know where we are staying when we go back to Lisbon. If it’s available, don’t hesitate to stay there!
Patrice & Jocelyn, Regina, Canada.

An excellent choice!

Date Submitted: November 09, 2008 Date of Stay: October 2008
We highly recommend this apartment if you’re looking for a convenient, clean and comfortable location to spend your holidays in Lisbon. The Airport pick-up was a great start to our vacation. The owner is very friendly and he gave us a lot of useful information about the city. The apartment is cosy and well-equiped. A bakery, restaurants and little grocery stores can be found nearby. An excellent choice for a Lisbon holiday!
Catherina and Olivier, Lyon, France

Hidden Gem

Date Submitted: October 28, 2008 Date of Stay: October 2008
Alfama House was the best surprise in Lisbon. The apartment is like new and is located in the Alfama area which is the most interesting neighbourhood in Lisbon. Alfama House was way better than a hotel because of the space and ability to prepare food that you can pick up at the bakery, butcher or the store just down the alley. Francois the owner takes great care of you and makes great reommendations for local restaruants and hangouts. He even picked us up at the airport! No question we’ll stay here again.
T.G., Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

Perfect Location

Date Submitted: October 20, 2008 Date of Stay: October 2008
I was in Portugal in the beginning of October 2008 and stayed in this apartment for the first part of our trip. The location was perfect and really gave you a feel for Lisbon. It was a great apartment with all of the amenities including a washing machine and a computer with free internet. The owner went above and beyond to ensure that we were well taken care of and was very informative on the area, the attractions, restaurants, etc. I would recommend this apartment to anyone.
Jode, Canada

“THE” place to stay in Lisboa

Date Submitted: October 14, 2008 Date of Stay: September 2008
We stayed in Alfama House in September 2008 and would highly recommend it as THE place to stay for stylish yet reasonable priced accommodation. Situated in the old town, the location was perfect as it allowed us to experience living like the locals whilst all the local attractions/sights were within short walking distance. The apartment itself is in a lovely area with restaurants, bars and shops and even a local bakery on your doorstep – where you simply must sample the yummy local treats pastel de nata (custard tarts). We were keen to stay in an apartment rather than a hotel and this was exactly what we were looking for – a modern furnished apartment. What’s more, the owner provided excellent and friendly customer service by picking us up from the train station (we arrived from Faro) and offering top tips on where to eat, what to do etc. There was also a range of guidebooks in different languages available in the apartment, which we thought was a nice touch. The apartment was very well-maintained, clean and stylish – the free internet access is a bonus. We loved Lisbon and will definitely go back and stay at Alfama house too. Excellent city break and apartment if you are looking for history, culture and entertainment.
Nadine R., Edinburgh.

No Complications

Date Submitted: September 29, 2008 Date of Stay: August 2008
Cosy, clean, comfortable, central. No frills, just what I wanted. No hesitation in recommending Alfama House.
R. Scharf, Vermont, US

Local Feeling

Date Submitted: September 28, 2008 Date of Stay: August 2008
The place was comfortable and clean and the whole package made me feel like a local resident. Many thanks for a great stay.
A. Kirk, Santiago, Chile

Easy Arrival

Date Submitted: September 28, 2008 Date of Stay: August 2008
Being picked-up at the airport was a great start to the holiday. The location atmosphere was typical of an old town within the city and we enjoyed every minute. Strongly recommended.
L. Ebacher, Sherbrooke, Canada

Great location

Date Submitted: September 23, 2008 Date of Stay: July 2008
The location was perfect. Right in the middle of the narrow streets of Lisboa’s old quarters. Simple, comfortable and good value. Would recommend Alfama House to anyone.
L. T. , Dublin.